Home Page


Curriculum and Information Presentations from Autumn 2017

Early Years Foundation Stage (Reception)


In the Early Years Foundation Stage there are seven areas of learning and development that shape educational programmes in early years settings, including the Reception year at infant schools. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas are:


  • communication and language;
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.


There are also four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:


  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.


All areas are delivered through a balance of adult led and child initiated activities and we work closely as a team to provide opportunities for children to learn through carefully planned, purposeful play in both the indoor and outdoor environment.


Effective learning builds on and extends what children know and can already do therefore, our planning is informed by observations we have made of the children in order to understand and consider their current interests, experiences, development and learning needs.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the statutory standards that all early years providers must meet. This includes all maintained schools, non-maintained schools, independent schools and all providers on the Early Years Register.

Key Stage 1 - Years 1 and 2


In Key Stage 1 we use a variety of teaching and learning styles including whole class, group activities, paired and individual work. This allows us to cater for the individual needs of the children very effectively.


We follow the statutory National Curriculum which is composed of: English, Mathematics, Science, Computing, History, Geography, Music, Physical Education and Art. Religious Education is taught using Hampshire guidance.

We ensure that our curriculum is creative, stimulating and meaningful to our pupils by linking the different subject areas together into half termly or termly, themed topics. An overview of this is sent out to parents at the beginning of each term. Staff work closely together to plan a scheme of work that ensures coverage of the National Curriculum and activities are planned in detail to ensure work is carefully matched to pupils’ abilities, enabling the development of skills, knowledge and understanding.

We have themed weeks and visitors to support learning whenever possible to further enhance the curriculum e.g. Arts Week based around the theme of Remembrance; Red, White and Blue Week for the Queen's 90th birthday.

Marking and Feedback Policy

Home Learning


All children are expected to read daily at home with an adult to ensure that they make good progress.  This is in addition to practising spellings and mental maths skills.  The details of how this is managed by each year group can be found in the curriculum booklet.  Maths challenges will also be sent home to develop and reinforce mathematical thinking.


As well as these daily activities your child will be asked to complete topic related home learning activities on occasion which are then celebrated and shared in school.

Home Learning flyer

Phonics and the Reading Scheme


All children are taught phonics through a systematic phonics scheme called Letters and Sounds. This scheme teaches children to recognise and write phonemes and how to use these to blend for reading and segment for spelling.  For further information on the phonics sounds please click here.


At Fleet Infant School children are taught to apply their phonic knowledge and key word recognition though whole class and group guided reading sessions. They are given the opportunity to practise their reading through our home school reading books. These incorporate a range of recommended reading schemes, such as Oxford Reading Tree, Big Cat Collins, Lighthouse, Rigby Star, I Can Read, Jelly and Bean, All Aboard and many others. The books are colour banded together according to the different stages of reading.


All children are also taught the correct letter formation using a cursive handwriting style through formal handwriting sessions.

Picture 1
Picture 2

End of Key Stage 1 Assessments and Testing


Teacher assessment of children is an on-going process which takes place throughout the year in all year groups. At the end of Key Stage 1 it is these teacher assessments which will be used to decide whether children have reached Age Related Expectations.  To support this process, children in Year 2 have to take statutory tests in Maths, Reading, Spelling, Grammar and Punctuation.


We hold a bi-annual e-Safety day where children, parents and staff receive information about how to keep safe when using the internet.  Alongside this the school has termly e-safety assemblies to keep this very important issue at the forefront of the children's minds. In addition, families must sign up to an Acceptable Use Policy in order to access the school's log in for curriculum support materials.  There is more information on our Internet Safety page.